
1. What is an ‘infield fly’? 

Answer:  Rule 2.00 – ”An INFIELD FLY is a fair fly ball (not including a line drive nor an 

attempted bunt) which can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, when 1st and 2nd, or 1st, 

2nd, and 3rd are occupied, before two are out.  The pitcher, catcher, and any outfielder stationed 

in the infield on the play shall be considered infielders for the purpose of this rule.” 

Continuing from the definition in the rule book:  “When it seems apparent that a batted ball will 

be an Infield Fly, the umpire shall immediately declare “Infield Fly” for the benefit of the runners.  

If the ball is near the baseline, the umpire shall declare “Infield Fly, if fair”. 

The ball is live and runners may advance at the risk of that ball being caught, or retouch and 

advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball.  If the hit becomes a foul ball, it is 

treated the same as any foul. 

NOTE 1:  If a declared Infield Fly is allowed to fall untouched to the ground, and bounces foul 

and remains foul before passing 1st or 3rd base, it is a foul ball.  If a declared Infield Fly falls 

untouched to the ground outside the baseline, and bounces fair before passing 1st or 3rd base, it 

is an Infield Fly. 

NOTE 2:  The Infield Fly Rule does not apply in Tee Ball 

Approved Ruling – The infield dirt and the outfield grass do not form a boundary line for Infield 

Fly purposes.” 

Rule 6.05 (d):  “A batter is out when – an Infield Fly is declared” 

Rule 6.05 (k):  The Approved Ruling states the Infield Fly rule takes precedence over the 

Intentionally Dropped fly ball or line drive.  For Infield Fly – the ball remains live and runners 

may advance at their own risk; if an infielder intentionally drops a fair ball (not judged to be an 

Infield Fly), the ball is dead and runners must return to their original base without liability of 

being put out  

Rule 7.08 (f):  A runner touching a base when touched by an Infield Fly is not out – although the 

batter is out on the Infield Fly.  If a runner is touched by an Infield Fly when not touching a base, 

both the runner and batter are out. 

The rule book is fairly clear on Infield Fly situations.  But here are a few considerations: 

a. When it seems apparent that a batted ball will be an Infield Fly, the umpire should 

immediately make the call.  This is normally done just after the ball has reached its apex 

in flight and the infielder is positioned or positioning to make the catch 

b. This is not an appeal play.  Whether or not an Infield Fly is called is solely the judgement 

for the umpire and may not be protested 

c. It is always within the umpire’s discretion to get with their partner to discuss any play and 

possibly correct any situation.  An undeserved double play should never be allowed to 

stand 

d. If the ball is handled by an outfielder, it is still an Infield Fly if, in the umpire’s judgement, 

the ball could have been caught by an infielder – no matter how deep that infielder may 

be playing 



e. In judging “ordinary effort” by an infielder, the umpire should evaluate the relative 

capability of players in the age group, not the individual’s own abilities.  By standard, 

“ordinary effort” will change from division to division 

2.  What is the call when the catcher blocks the plate, but does not have the ball? 

Answer:  Obstruction 

Rule 2.00 – “OBSTRUCTION is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball, 

impedes the progress of any runner.  A fake tag is considered obstruction.  (NOTE: Obstruction 

shall be called on a defensive player who blocks off a base, base line or home plate from a base 

runner while not in possession of the ball.)” 

3.  When should batter interference be called in the following scenarios: 

a.  RH batter with a runner on 2nd.  Runner steals and batter instinctively steps out 

of the batter’s box, but now is within the catcher’s throwing lane 

b.  LH batter with a runner on 1st taking a big secondary lead.  After the pitch, the 

batter steps out of the box while at the same time the catcher attempts a snap 

throw to the first baseman to pick off the runner 

Answer for both situations:  Interference – the batter is out when they step out of the batter’s 

box and “interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders, or confuses any fielder attempting to 

make a play”, whether by instinct or intent 

Rule 6.06 (c):  “A batter is out for illegal action, when… interfering with the catcher’s fielding or 

throwing by:  (1) stepping out of the batter’s box…” 

Rule 2.00 – Interference also applies.  Besides the definition, the Approved Ruling notes 

“Interference does not have to be intentional for it to be called”. 

4.  For Rookie Machine Pitch 

a.  What is the ruling for hit batters? 

Answer:  By local rule, no hit batters in Rookie Machine Pitch 

b.  What is the ruling for strike-outs? 

Answer:  By local rule, no strike-outs and no walks in Rookie Machine Pitch.  The batter must hit 

the ball either during the five pitches on machine pitch or, after five pitches, off the tee.  If after 

the third swing off the tee, the batter does not put the ball in play, the batter will return to the 

dugout, but does not count as a defensive out  

5.  For Single-A, what is the ruling for hit batters?  

Answer:  By Rule 6.08 (b), the batter is entitled to 1st base without liability to be put out.  There 

is no local rule that amends or modifies the Rule Book for this division of play 

6.  What are the rules for pitchers and pitch counts with a continuation of a 

suspended game? 



a. Scenario:  A game played on April 24th is suspended after 2 ½ innings due to 

weather.  The pitcher had delivered 31 pitches at the time of the suspension.  The 

continuation is scheduled for April 28th.  If that pitcher pitches today in the 

continuation and delivers up to 20 pitches, can they pitch again tomorrow in our 

next scheduled game or does the 31 pitches count into their daily total as part of 

Friday’s game? 

Answer:  Your pitcher is legally eligible to pitch today and, if they deliver 20 or fewer pitches 

today, tomorrow as well, assuming they have not pitched between the 24th and today (3 

calendar days rest).  

With 31 pitches delivered, a pitcher league age 14 and under must observe one calender day of 

rest. 

The 31 pitches delivered on the 24th do not carry over in the continuation game as far as pitch 

count for that day the game is continued – in other words, the pitch count does not accumulate 

day over day.  But for scorekeeping purposes, the pitching records will be considered part of the 

game, as are all records for batting and fielding, with a notation that the game was continued 

from the 24th.  

As long as the pitcher observes the required days rest following their game today (which with 20 

or fewer pitches would be zero days rest), their eligibility to pitch subsequent games is not 

impacted by the 31 pitches delivered during the game on the 24th. 

Reference Regulation VI – Pitchers as well as Rule 4.10 (d) – game called before it becomes a 

regulation game. 


